Advanced Search

Audio Downloads MP3
  Living On One Income

  The Mother's Companion
    Cover Letters
    Volume 1 (1995)
    Volume 2 (1996)
    Volume 3 (1997)
    Volume 4 (1998)
    Volume 5 (1999)
    Volume 6 (2000)
    Volume 7 (2001)
    Volume 8 (2002)
    Volume 9 (2003)

    Children's Health
    Child Training
    Esther's Diary
    Parenting Young Adults
    Pregnancy and Early Years
    Rachel's Diary

  Sample Articles
    Woman to Woman
    Titus 2 Mentoring
  Meet the Family
    Family 2001
    Update 2004
    Update 2005
    Update 2006
    Update 2007
    Update 2008
    Update 2009
    Update 2010
    Update 2011
    Update 2013
    The Aardsma Weekly
  Election 2016
    Election 2016

Dr. Aardsma's
Educational Products

  Dr. Aardsma's Math Drill
  Dr. Aardsma's Spelling Drill
  Dr. Aardsma's Saxon Math Checker

Helen's Farm Journal
  More Info

  MC Vending Machine

  Mulberry Lane Farm
    Canning Supplies & Bulk Foods

  The Author
    Helen Aardsma
    Helen's husband
  Aardsma Five 
    Aardsma Five
  Jennifer (Aardsma) Hall's Blog 
    Treasuring Home
  Our Family Tree
    Family History

Contact Us
  E-mail us


Meet the Author

Hi! I'm Helen. I've been a stay-at-home wife and mother since 1974. From 1995 until 2003 I wrote The Mother's Companion, a bimonthly publication, to encourage Christian women in the art of mothering.

The "Aardsma Five" Thanksgiving, 2014.
From left to right:
Front: Esther, (holding Eldora), Gerald, Helen, 'Beka, baby Emma, & Rachel.
Back: "Little Ger", Matthew, Caleb, Timothy, Mark David, & Joey.

God has blessed me with a godly, loving husband, Gerald, and ten wonderful children. Our children range in age from highschoolers to married adult. Grandchildren are being added almost yearly, with the 21st being added in 2015! Home schooling has been a part of our family since 1982.

In January, 1995, we left southern California and moved to central Illinois so my husband (a Ph.D. scientist) could pursue his research in biblical chronology full time. We practice a simple homesteading life-style in the country.

Our 2014 Homecoming, August 2014.

I like gardening (flowers and veggies), walking with my hubby, hanging out laundry, reading old books, mentoring young mothers, living in the country, my Bosch bread maker, home-grown heritage turkey, listening to my daughter play the piano, nursing toddlers, Elisabeth Elliot, garage sales, leisurely Sundays, cast iron, large vans, chocolate, blueberry goat's-milk milkshakes, thrift stores, baby slings, Saturday evenings when my house is clean(er?), my answering machine, the smell of home-made whole wheat bread, stainless steel, dishwashers, mail-order shopping, warranties, my Retsel grain mill, teenagers who can drive and run errands for me, and libraries.

I dislike water on the bathroom floor, diets, plastic, white walls, lost library books, malls, finding my silverware outside, water on the kitchen floor, store-bought fruit and vegetables, laundry piles, adult-only church services, store-bought white bread, white T-shirts, questions like, "Are they all yours?", white socks, crying babies, sassy children, TV, white anything, lost shoes, and the flu.


Copyright ©1996-2017 Aardsma Research and Publishing. All rights reserved.